EECS 485: Web Systems

The University of Michigan, Fall 2020

A holistic course of modern web systems and technologies, covering front end and back end. Build an Instagram clone in the first half of the semester, and a Google clone in the second.

Syllabus

Welcome to EECS 485!

We're glad you're here. The course will be remote this fall, so you can join from anywhere in the world. More details in the syllabus.

Computer and network recommendations

You'll need a laptop and a reliable internet connection. More details in the syllabus.

Open calendar in new window

Schedule

Day Lecture Lab Deadline

Tue Sep 1

Thu Sep 3

Introduction

Static Pages

Project 1 Setup

Tue Sep 8

Thu Sep 10

Server-side Dynamic Pages

Sessions

Static Pages Tools and AWS

Tue Sep 15

Thu Sep 17

Encryption

Web Security

Project 2 Setup Project 1 due Wed 8pm ET

Tue Sep 22

Thu Sep 24

REST APIs

Client-side Dynamic Pages

Server-side Dynamic Pages Tools

Tue Sep 29

Thu Oct 1

Client-side Applications

Asynchronous Programming

Project 3 Setup Project 2 due Wed 8pm ET

Tue Oct 6

Thu Oct 8

Networking

Google File System

Client-side Dynamic Pages Tools

Tue Oct 13

Thu Oct 15

Map Reduce

OS and Parallelism

Scaling a Database with PaaS Project 3 due Wed 8pm ET

Tue Oct 20

Thu Oct 22

No class

No lab Midterm
Wed Oct 21
7pm ET

Tue Oct 27

Thu Oct 29

Information Retrieval 1

Information Retrieval 2

Project 4 Setup

Tue Nov 3

Thu Nov 5

Information Retrieval 3

Scaling Static Content (DNS and CDNs)

Scaling static files and media uploads with PaaS

Tue Nov 10

Thu Nov 12

Scaling Dynamic Content: Containerization and Virtualization

Scaling Dynamic Content: Cloud Computing

Project 5 Setup Project 4 due Wed 8pm ET

Tue Nov 17

Thu Nov 19

Recommender Systems

Auctions

Scaling Server-side Dynamic Pages with PaaS 1

Tue Nov 24

Thu Nov 26

No class - Thanksgiving Recess

No lab

Tue Dec 1

Thu Dec 3

Blockchain

Dark Web

Scaling Server-side Dynamic Pages with PaaS 2 Project 5 due Wed 8pm ET

Tue Dec 8

Thu Dec 10

No class

Final Exam

No lab Final Exam
Thu Dec 10
7pm ET

People

You can reach us at eecs485staff@umich.edu

Andrew DeOrio

awdeorio@umich.edu

MacOS, Linux

Raed Almomani

almomani@umich.edu

Windows 10

Krishan Amin

kmamin@umich.edu

MacOS

Scott Beinlich

sbein@umich.edu

MacOS

Jad Chaar

jadchaar@umich.edu

MacOS

Aditya Chitta

achitta@umich.edu

MacOS

Erin Deutschman

ecdeuts@umich.edu

Windows 10

Bronson Knowles

bknowles@umich.edu

Windows 10

Anoop Kotha

akotha@umich.edu

MacOS

Taylor Lansey

tlansey@umich.edu

MacOS

Alec Minchington

akminch@umich.edu

Linux, Windows 10

Zach Papanastasopoulos

zpapanas@umich.edu

Windows 10

Anish Ravipati

anishrav@umich.edu

MacOS

Adi Soni

adisoni@umich.edu

Windows 10

Andrew Vernier

amverni@umich.edu

MacOS

Hassaan Wattoo

hawattoo@umich.edu

MacOS

Maryam Younus

myounus@umich.edu

Windows 10

Michelle Zhang

miczhang@umich.edu

Windows 10